Harkin – Interview / Outlines Festival

 

Many British musicians are anxious regarding the future of touring abroad post-Brexit. Do you think the potential impending visa costs will make worldwide tours less sustainable?

“When Brexit happened I didn’t go home for 5 months. I stitched together a mammoth itinerary that physically and mentally floored me a few times, but was the source of the most satisfying and creative performances of my life. I didn’t know what else to do but channel the uncertainty and anxiety into action because the future is more unpredictable than ever. In practical terms, who knows what the playing field will be like for us? But I know that, in these few months, I’ve already been incredibly galvanised by the resilience of the creative community. And I guess the bright side is our currency devaluation will hopefully make it easier for American bands to get the opportunity to come here! Come on over!” Harkin Interview / Outlines Festival

Leave a Reply

